Warning! Editing this pageset section will affect all pages on your website.

VAPA Advisory Council


  1. to advise the VAPA Director and VAPA staff on implementation of the SDUSD Strategic Arts Education Plan
  2. to help inform and educate district VAPA teachers and community on implementation of the plan


  • Meetings are held quarterly on Monday afternoons from 4:30-6:00pm.
  • Meetings are virtual. They are open to the public; please email [email protected] for the Teams link.
  • The meeting schedule for the 2024-2025 school year is:
    • Monday, September 23, 2024
    • Monday, November 18, 2024
    • Tuesday, January 14, 2025 - full-day retreat, in person
    • Monday, March 3, 2025
    • Monday, May 5, 2025


  • CHAIR: Michael Fiedler (Music teacher, Canyon Hills High School)
  • VICE CHAIR: Meera Ramanathan (Visual Art project resource teacher, Zamorano Fine Arts Academy)
  • SECRETARY: Allison Boles (Education and Community Program Manager, La Jolla Music Society)


Council members serve two-year terms; year listed is when the member's term is up. Arts specialist representatives are elected by their membership. All other representatives are elected by the VAPA Advisory Council.

Arts Specialist Representatives Arts Specialist Representatives (continued) Community Members Arts Organizations

Andrea LeMaitre, Dance, SDSCPA (2024)

Daniel Zarzuela-Gonzalez, Visual Art, SDSCPA (2024)

Donna Silva Garcia, SDSCPA/FOSCPA Liaison (2025)

Deirdre Moore, Residency Program Manager, Arts Education Connection San Diego (2025)

Jason Berman, Media Arts, Millennial Tech Middle (2024)

Brian Black, Visual Art, Crawford High School (2025)

Liz Buffington, SDSU College of Education (2025)

Brooke Newman, Education Coordinator, Outside the Lens (2025)

Corina Borevitz, General Music, Golden Hill K-8 (2024)

Meera Ramanathan, Visual Art, Zamarano Fine Arts Academy (2025)

Lisel Gorell-Getz, Education Coordinator, The Old Globe (2024)

Allison Boles, Director of Learning & Engagement, La Jolla Music Society (2025)

Wyatt Ellison, Elementary Music, VAPA Dept (2024)

Ed Moller, Visual Art, Lincoln High School (2025)

Dana Zimbric, Classics 4 Kids, Artistic Director (2025)


Maureen Flynn, Choral Music, VAPA Dept (2025)

Andrea Wlodarczyk, VAPA Enrichment Team (2026)

Kim Bourda, Visual Art Teacher and SDUSD parent (2025)

Michael Fiedler, Instrumental Music, Canyon Hills High School (2025)

Kimberly Cooper, San Diego Unified Council of PTAs (SDUCPTA) Rep (2025)

Daniel Kriley, Theatre, Mira Mesa High School (2024)

At-Large Members

Classroom Teachers

Post-Secondary Representative

Colette Hopper, Theatre, SDSCPA (2024)

Trisha Cox, Visual Art, Muirlands Middle School (at large member) (2024)

Michelle Pampo, Balboa Elementary School (2025)

Dr. Keith Pedersen, Professor of Music, Point Loma Nazarene University (2025)

Kayla Rodgers, Music, VAPA Department (at large member) (2025) Joseph Waldron, Sequoia and Cadman Elementary Schools (2025)